COVID-19 Employee Resources
During this challenging time, protecting our vulnerable populations is our highest priority.
Need-to-know information (as of April 2020)
- To help reduce the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19), access to WVC buildings is restricted to faculty and staff until further notice. This is in accordance with the governor’s “Stay Home, Stay Healthy” order.
- All events and activities are canceled until further notice.
- Spring quarter begins on April 6, but instruction and classes will not begin until April 13. The quarter is still scheduled to end on June 19.
- Spring quarter instruction will be delivered online as much as possible. Faculty will provide more specific instructions to their students via email and/or Canvas before the start of the quarter.
- Employees should check with their supervisors for specific instructions.
WVC COVID-19 Response
- Visit wvc.edu/PublicHealth for COVID-19 specific information.
- Visit wvc.edu/Online for information about how WVC is transitioning services, classes and more online.
- Questions? Email PublicHealth@wvc.edu to reach our COVID-19 response team.
The Washington State Department of Health has established a call center to address questions from the public. If you have questions about what is happening in Washington, how the virus is spread, and what to do if you have symptoms, please call 1-800-525-0127 and press #.
FAQ’s for WVC Faculty & Staff
This is a rapidly evolving situation, the most up to date information will be available at Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Washington State Department of Health. This webpage will be updated with new information regarding changes to employee leave rules.
If you have a medical condition impacting your ability to report to work, contact your supervisor and/or HR regarding options available to you.
If you don’t have a medical condition, but are concerned about workplace exposure to the Coronavirus, you have several options depending on your position:
- Use leave or other benefits if you qualify (see options under "Links" on this page)
- Request to telework (teleworking agreement, request and work log for classified staff are all located on the human resources webpage)
- Request to temporarily adjust your schedule
Persons with a cough and a fever:
- If you have had a test and been diagnosed with COVID-19, you need to stay home, away from people for seven days or until 72 hours after your fever and symptoms are gone, whichever is longer.
- If you have NOT had a COVID-19 test, but you have had close contact with someone who has had a test and been diagnosed with COVID-19, you should isolate yourself at home for 7 days OR until 72 hours after your fever is gone and your symptoms get better, whichever is longer.
- If you have NOT been around anyone who has been diagnosed with COVID-19, you should stay home away from others until 72 hours after the fever is gone and symptoms get better. You may have any number of other respiratory diseases circulating in our communities.
Persons who feel fine, displaying no symptoms of illness.
- BUT your child or someone else in your household has a cough and a fever, but has NOT been tested for COVID-19. The sick person needs to stay home until their fever and symptoms have been gone for 72 hours. You and the rest of the household can continue to go to work and school as long as you feel well. Several potential respiratory diseases exist that can cause cough and a fever.
- BUT a friend of a friend of yours has COVID-19. You can continue to go to work and school as long as you feel well. If you have not been around someone with COVID-19, the chances that you contract COVID-19 are fairly low.
- BUT you are worried about your older or medically-fragile friends and relatives. This is a time to practice social distancing. Refrain from shaking hands, high fives, and hugs. Stand six feet or more from other people. Wash your hands frequently.
You feel fine, displaying no symptoms of illness.
- BUT you have had close contact with a sick person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19.
- You should not go to work or school, and should avoid public places for 14 days.
- Call your healthcare provider and monitor your health for fever, cough and shortness of breath during the 14 days after the last day you were in close contact with the sick person with COVID-19.
Visit the CDC’s webpage for more guidance regarding what to do if you believe you may have COVID-19.
If an employee feels fine, not displaying symptoms, but has had close contact with a sick person who has been diagnosed with COVID-19, the employee should notify their supervisor immediately.
Supervisors will work with employees to verify if their work can be done remotely. If the employee is provided the opportunity to telework and declines to do so, the employee must use their own accrued leave.
Request to telework by completing the applicable telework form and submitting to HR. Review the teleworking policy and procedure for more details.
- Teleworking Agreement Form
- Teleworking Request Form
- Teleworking Work Log for Classified Staff
In those instances where a telework arrangement is not feasible, employees who are self-quarantined will be released from work with no loss in pay during the time of self-quarantine for up to no more than 14 calendar days. If the employee starts to display symptoms while at home, the employee will no longer qualify for paid administrative leave and will need to use their own accrued leave. It is vital to stress the importance of the responsibility for employees to consider the health of the workplace and their coworkers by exercising sound judgment and transparency during times of illness.
Employees will be required to submit a request for the self-quarantine leave by providing a self-written statement confirming the circumstance warranting the self-quarantine and should submit the request to executive director of HR, Reagan Bellamy. An email is considered written documentation. A note from a medical provider is not required. WVC retains the right to request written verification confirming the circumstances warranting the self-quarantine, which may include a signed affidavit from an employee.
If an employee contracts or tests positive for COVID-19, they are required to use their own accrued leave. For a complete list of leave options click here and other options click here.
Due to school closures, you may:
- Use one of the Federal Leave options if you qualify, use sick leave, compensatory time, vacation leave, and/or leave without pay if you are unable to work because of lack of childcare. You can also view leave options on this leave chart.
- Request to telework (Note: telework may be approved even if you are the primary provider for child(ren) during telework hours).
Employees may be eligible to apply for Shared Leave, Unemployment Insurance benefits, Industrial Insurance (L&I) benefits or Paid Family Medical Leave (PFML). The Employment Security Department has published COVID-19 Scenarios & Benefits Available, a useful tool to help understand when unemployment, L&I or PFML may be applicable.
Please continue to protect yourself and families, neighbors and colleagues by staying home when sick, covering coughs and sneezes with a tissue, and washing hands frequently with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Whenever possible avoid close contact with people who are sick, and frequently clean touched surfaces and objects.
Remember to treat individuals and communities impacted by COVID-19 with compassion and support – viruses do not discriminate and neither should we. Please speak up if you hear, see or read stigmatizing comments or misinformation.