Default Font Size Icon

Student Organizations

Club Certification

Recognition as a Certified Student Club

In order to be officially recognized as participating members of the ASWVC, all Clubs must be approved by the Interclub Council, the Student Senate, and the Associate Dean of Campus Life, Equity & Inclusion or their designee. To charter a new organization, contact the WVC Campus Life office, (509) 682-6860 (Wenatchee campus) or (509) 422-7810 (Omak campus).

Officially recognized organizations are eligible to:

  1. Utilize college facilities
  2. Reserve activity dates on the official college calendar
  3. Organize activities and events both on and off campus
  4. Be included in student publications

 

 Club Handbook

2019-20 Club Handbook

Club Certification Forms

New Clubs

Club Certification

Club Constitution Template

 
Established Clubs

Club Recertification

 

 

Club Forms

Activity Request & Room Reservation

Purchase Request_Local

Purchase Request_Online

Costco Purchase Authorization 

 

Conference Paperwork

Activity Request - Conference

Prior Trip Authorization - Wenatchee

Student Travel Consent Form

 

Interclub Council

Information and Paperwork

Interclub Council is composed of the ASWVC Vice President, who serves as the Chair, the ASWVC Treasurer who serves as the Co-Chair, at least one representative from each club on the Wenatchee campus, and the Student Leadership & Engagement Coordinator, who serves as advisor for all clubs. The council is responsible for managing the club budget, collaborating on events, and supporting club program needs.

The Omak campus coordinates student activities through the events coordinator with the approval of the student senate.

Certified Clubs are required to participate in Interclub Council, which comes together bi-monthly to discuss ideas, plans, partnerships, activities, and funding. Club funding is dependent on participation in Interclub Council, as well as attendance at the fall and spring showcases.

Club representatives do not have to hold an officer position in their club to participate in Interclub Council. Representatives are asked to vote on various requests, be the voice of their club, and take notes to relay information back to their individual clubs.

In rare situations, all members of a given club may be in class during the Interclub Council meeting time. If such circumstances arise an Interclub Council Excused Absence Petition may be granted. Approval for the petition must be received from the Student Leadership & Engagement Coordinator and the Associate Dean of Campus Life, Equity, & Inclusion prior to the submission of the petition form.

Interclub Council Excused Absence Petition

Clubs & Organizations by campus

The Omak and Wenatchee campus’ have a diverse assortment of student clubs. Clubs and organizations provide excellent opportunities for social and civic involvement. For more information about joining or starting a club, contact the WVC Campus Life office (509) 682-6860 (Wenatchee campus) or (509) 422-7810 (Omak campus).

Omak Campus Clubs

MEChA
Provides education and information to others about the Chicanx movement while enforcing gender awareness.

Co-Advisors: Edgar Arellano, earellano@wvc.edu; Cameron Painter, painter@wvc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa
The Eta Rho chapter of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society recognizes and encourages scholarship among college students. To achieve this purpose, the chapter provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Co-Advisors: Peter Donahue, pdonahue@wvc.edu; Will Kraske, wkraske@wvc.edu

Red Road Association
Focuses on local and national Native American awareness. Also works to dispel myths of the general population about Native Americans and to bridge the gap in communication between communities.

Advisor:  Livia Millard, lmillard@wvc.edu

Science Club
Learns about science through field trips, activities and discussions outside of the classroom and lab. 

Co-Advisors: Jeff Dykes, jdykes@wvc.edu; Kristy Kappenman, kkappenman@wvc.edu

Student Nurses of North Campus
Provides an opportunity for students to become better acquainted with their roles as future professional nurses, while contributing to the quality of student life, while also enhancing academic interest in the health field by providing guest speakers, public health teaching, out-of-town hospital tours and associated activities with the state and national nursing associations.
Provides opportunities to experience agriculture and natural resource practices and operations. 

Advisor: Michael Lesky; mlesky@wvc.edu

AutoTech Club
Focuses on expanding the knowledge of automotive technology by working collectively with peers and community members. Additionally, the AutoTech Club seeks to expand community outreach.

Co-Advisors: Bob Greiner, rgreiner@wvc.edu; Tom Doherty, tdoherty@wvc.edu

Club of Natural Resources
Provides a platform for environmental stewardship, to work alongside government agencies and non-profit organizations to explore career prospects, and to create a common space for sharing ideas, experiences, and information to further encourage a positive and active change in our shared natural environment.

Advisor: Jennifer Hadersberger, jhadersberger@wvc.edu

Culture Club
Introduces diverse values and cultures to the community, assists international students in adapting to our community, and to provide a social network for students interested in other cultures.

Advisor: Johanna Hamilton, jhamilton@wvc.edu 

Cyber Knights
Expands and explores knowledge of computer technology.

Advisor: David Burns, dburns@wvc.edu

Kaizen
Provide a safe space to share concerns, gain support and build new skills.

Co-Advisors: Ryan Poortinga, rpoortinga@wvc.edu; Maria de Jesus Alvizar, malvizar@wvc.edu

Machining
Encourages interest in the machine trade and promote collaboration between other related departments on the Wenatchee campus. The club’s focus is on team work and exploration in a metalworking production atmosphere. The goal is to create and produce various parts for a wide range of departments on the Wenatchee campus and individuals in the community.

Advisor: Micky Jennings, mjennings@wvc.edu 

MASK (Medical Assistant Student Knights)
Enhances, assists, and supports the academic and clinical success of each student currently enrolled in the medical assistant program. The goal is to encourage participation in local, state and national conferences. The focus is on Helping build confidence in students as skills are developed.

Co-Advisors: Jan Kaiser, jkaiser@wvc.edu; Marilyn Brincat, mbrincat@wvc.edu

MEChA
Educates and informs others of the Chicanx movement while enforcing gender awareness.

Advisor: Maria de Jesus Alvizar, malvizar@wvc.edu

Mechatronics
Combining past projects into one extraordinary project utilizing modern electronics.

Advisor: Zack Jacobson, zjacobson@wvc.edu

Phi Theta Kappa
The purpose of the Eta Rho chapter of the national Phi Theta Kappa honor society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among college students. To achieve this purpose, the chapter provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

QSA (Queer Straight Alliance)

Creates an inclusive environment for LGBT+ individuals and their allies by promoting a positive space that helps the LGBT community and the college through community building, understanding, and support.

Advisor: Hart Johnson, sjohnson@wvc.edu 

Refrigeration
Teaches those who want to learn more about the refrigeration processes and workforce.

Advisor: Greg Jourdan, gjourdan@wvc.edu

Signing Knights
Encourages involvement of students with the deaf community, bridging the gap between deaf and hearing communities.

Advisor: Patsy Mugg, pmugg@wvc.edu

Skills USA
Promotes leadership and enhances skills to develop a stronger, more professional workforce.

Advisor: Micky Jennings, mjennings@wvc.edu

SNOW (Student Nurses of Wenatchee)
Promotes and provides educational opportunities; provides opportunities for students to participate in community volunteerism; provides opportunities for interaction between students and the community at large; and provides leadership opportunities.

Co-Advisors: Jenny Capelo, jcapelo@wvc.edu; Rhonda Yenney, ryenney@wvc.edu

STEM ClubProvides opportunities for students to explore the STEM fields and engage with like-minded students, faculty, and mentors in the community.
Veteran Knights
Supports veteran students with tools for transitioning from military to college through the help of other veterans who are currently enrolled on the Wenatchee campus; helps new veteran students with their studies by means of tutoring and mentoring; and or a network of students.
Co-Advisors: Derek Sheffield, dsheffield@wvc.edu; Bob Greiner, rgreiner@wvc.edu